RSS

Say Yes to the Nay-Sayers

07 Feb

   At the age of 20, I believe I can do anything. I’m young, I’m strong and most importantly I’m determined. It’s how I get from day to day and month to year. It never occurred to me that something would ever come along and shake me up a bit. Last night, that something did. I went to my first rugby practice and I was beyond scared.

   I’ve never played a sport before- not little league soccer, not ice skating, not even cheerleading- so going into a sport with no padding and no experience was terrifying. Now when I first decided to play I was all smile, but once I actually hit the field I froze. It happens to the best of us. We’re a ball of excitement when we get an idea- whether it’s to ride the rollercoaster or go on a cruise- but once the time comes to act we freeze. Freezing isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It’s what follows that can be a problem.

   In between the numbness and the act you have to make a choice, whether to keep going or turn back. In my case I kept going, not because I wasn’t afraid anymore, because it’s what I had sat out to do. The reason I was so worried was only because my friends were- they thought I was going to get mauled or something. I began thinking about getting ran over by someone much bigger than me, and I wanted to go back to my hair and nails- the safe side of life. We do it all the time, forfeit our ambitions for someone’s doubts. Yet, we lose sight of why we started in the first place. I’m not saying the concerns of others are a bad thing- it’s good to know they care. I’m just saying that once you start living by their rules, you can stop dreaming up ideas. They may not change your mind all the time, but they will change your mind.

    Your job is to go for it. Address their concerns and maybe take them into consideration, but do not let them be the determining factor in your life. I understood where my friends were coming from- I know I’m small, and working out is less about “working out” than buying the cute clothes- but I wanted to hit people. I wanted to get out on the field and catch and throw and kick like the rest of them. I knew I could, so I resolved to show them the sporty me. By the end of the night I hadn’t played much because the coach just wanted me to watch- maybe she thought I’d get mauled too- but I did learn some cool moves, and I got to see what it’s all about. I plan on going back to actually play- I’ve already started buying the gear- but if I wouldn’t have stepped onto the field I may have never been able to play the game.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 7, 2014 in Be Encouraged

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
